Saturday, March 21, 2009

[The Life of Shaun #332] Flatshare in Hoxton


Taking a break from my three Bs in Barcelona (Yo amo Barcelona! I am trying to figure out what motivated my sisters to leave here for Miami, but I am not capable of such irrational thought.) to send this on. My friend Alexi's flatmate has gone lesbian and is moving in with his boyfriend of five minutes, so Alexi has a room to rent out.

I've spent many happy hours at his flat, several of which I even remember. The flat is great, sprawling in a way very uncommon in London, making it ideal for sharing. The location, "Shoreditch Heights", is ideal for said neighbourhood and the other essential postcodes.

Alexi has become a good friend in London and I can recommend him as a flatmate whole-heartedly. His disposition is very similar to mine, so if you enjoy my company, then you will probably enjoy his.

To see the ad with full-sized pics, you can go here:

Text and small pics below. He is CCed here,, so contact him directly if you're keen or know someone who is. Please feel free to pass along to those you are willing to vouch for.


Shaun H. Coley
Shadwell, Tower Hamlets
London, UK

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Alexi Cawson
Date: 2009/3/21
Subject: outlet ad
To: Shaun Coley

Hoxton, Greater London (North)
Rent: £150pw (£650pcm), Available: 01/04/2009

Outlet ID: r24724

view map »

Search for tenant ┬╗

property description
Type of Property: shared
Building type: flat
No. of bedrooms available: 1
No. of bathrooms: 1
Nearby Transport: 2 minutes (walking)
Contract available: Yes

About the property
Double room to let in brand-new 2 bedroom flat in Hoxton N1, 10 mins walk from Old Street and 20 mins walk from Angel, Islington and Upper Street. The flat is on the sixth floor and has great views. There is a balcony and all usual mod cons. There is a small park with tennis courts/football pitch opposite, and a larger park 5 mins walk away. Frequent buses to the City/Waterloo/London Bridge/Lewisham leave from right outside. Old Street station is 10 mins walk or a five-minute bus ride. Generally takes 30 mins to West End off-peak. Black cab home from Soho is about £12.
room description
Size: 4m x4m
Furnished: yes, with double bed
Room amenities:
TV Phone
En Suite Broadband
About the room
Double room with great view (6th floor), 18 sq m (4x4.5m). Furnished with double bed, desk/chair, full-length mirror, wardrobe, bedside tables.
current flatmates
Number of other flatmates: 1
Age Range: 34
Gender/Orientation: Gay/bi males
Pets: None
Children: No
Smokers: No
Occupations: University administrator
Couples resident: no
Landlord resident: yes
Languages spoken: English/Greek
About current flatmates
34, gay male, own the flat. Tidy, reliable, go out fairly frequently. Work 9-5 in public sector. I'm not as much of a party animal as I was in my 20s but still do the odd all-nighter. Occasionally smoke but mostly outdoors. I have a piano but it works with headphones too, so you won't have to listen to too much of it (unless you want to).
Rental Details
Rent: £150 pw or £650 pcm
Deposit: £650
Utility bills pcm: £40
Available: 01/04/2009
Agency letting: No
Furnished Washing machine
Shower Dishwasher
Central heating Broadband
Television Disabled access
Garden Cleaner
Off street parking
Ideal homeseeker
Acceptable pets: None
Smokers OK: Yes
Children OK: No
Couples OK: No
Acceptable Genders/Sexualities:
Gay/bi males
About Ideal homeseeker
Looking for a reliable, tidy, sociable and thoughtful person to share with. We don't need to be the best of friends, but I would rather not share with someone who's in their room all the time and/or only ever cooks their own meals.
contact landlord
You need to create a profile to receive the contact details for this 'fast track property

Windows Live Hotmail just got better. Find out more!

You received this message because you are subscribed to the "The Life of Shaun" group.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to
For more options, visit this group at

No comments: